A Short History
Karl’s Bakery originally began as Nelson’s Bakery until it was purchased by Karl Romeneschi in 1944. After changing the name to Karl’s Bakery & Delicatessen and a couple location moves including one location on Hewitt Avenue (location of the current Seafirst Building), and then to Wetmore Avenue (mid-1960s), the bakery was finally settled in its current location at 2814 Wetmore Avenue. Karl worked the bakery until he sold it to the Pittman family around the year 1970. The Pittmans kept the Karl’s name, and ran the business until 1979, when they sold it to Judy & Earl Bacon.
Karl’s Bakery is currently owned and operated by Sheila and Kayla Jensen.
Facts & Tidbits
In the late 1980s, Karl’s Bakery was dubbed the “drive-through bakery” when a car crashed through the front window. Fortunately, there were no injuries.
Karl’s bakery’s location on Wetmore Avenue is unique in that it is located directly above the downtown Everett train tunnel. The vibration of trains passing through can be felt while you’re sitting in the cafe.
The photo above shows Karl Romeneschi (far right) with the bakery staff and was taken in the 1940’s.
In the early 90’s, Karl’s Bakery was the site for a live broadcast of the Fox Network’s local morning show, where they gave hints and clues as to where they were broadcasting from. Customers, employees, and owners were interviewed, and everyone had a terrific time.